

For Immediate Release: March 4, 2011 Contact: Ryan Murphy, rxxxxxx@rtdna.org

WASHINGTON — In recognition of the upcoming 10th anniversary of Sept. 11, 2001, the Radio Television Digital News Foundation (RTDNF) will honor journalists from ABC, ABC News Radio, AP Radio, CBS, CBS Radio, CNN, Fox News, NBC and NPR who covered the attacks with essential and intrepid reporting.

Accepting the 10th Anniversary 9/11 Tribute Award on March 10th at RTDNF's First Amendment Awards dinner in Washington will be:

Martha Raddatz, ABC News Chief White House Correspondent, ABC Ann Compton, National Correspondent, ABC News Radio Warren Levinson, AP Correspondent, AP Radio Byron Pitts, Chief National Correspondent, CBS Charlie Kaye, Executive Producer, CBS Radio Jeanne Meserve, CNN Homeland Security Correspondent, CNN Rick Leventhal, Correspondent, Fox News Rehema Ellis, NBC News Correspondent, NBC Melissa Block, Host of "All Things Considered," NPR

"It seemed fitting for an event designed to honor those who work every day to protect the First Amendment and the freedoms it guards for all Americans to focus on the amazing work done 10 years ago at the time of the September 11 attacks," said RTDNF Chairman Stacey Woelfel.

"We wanted to be sure that we could honor the scores of journalists who risked their own personal safety to cover those attacks so the American people would know what was happening. We will bring together a small group of those journalists to step into the spotlight and be recognized for their work, knowing each of them represents hundreds more who worked just as hard to report that story at a time when it was very hard to tell."

The 9/11 Tribute Awards will be presented at the 21st Annual RTDNF First Amendment Awards dinner, which is attended by more than 400 people each year.

Also being honored on March 10th with First Amendment Awards will be:

David J. Barrett, president & CEO, Hearst Television Inc. - First Amendment Leadership Award

Wolf Blitzer, anchor, The Situation Room and lead political anchor, CNN - Leonard Zeidenberg First Amendment Award

Susana Schuler, vice president, News, Raycom Media - First Amendment Award

The black-tie event, hosted by CBS' Russ Mitchell, will begin with a reception at 6:30 p.m. at the Ritz-Carlton Hotel, 1150 22nd Street NW, Washington.

To purchase sponsorships, tables or tickets, contact Jen Wafalosky, 216.409.8314 or email jenwafalosky@sbcglobal.net. For logistical information contact Rana Bogan, 202-467-5254 or email ranab@rtdna.org.

RTDNF is supported solely through contributions from corporations and individuals and grants from foundations who share the same values and vision – to produce quality journalism. RTDNF is a 501 (c) (3) non-profit organization. A portion of the dinner ticket is tax-deductible.

RTDNF provides training programs, seminars, scholarship support and research in areas of critical concern to electronic news professionals and their audience.